Keegan Theatre Receives 7 Helen Hayes Nominations

HH AwardThe Keegan Theatre is proud to have been nominated for 7 Helen Hayes Awards for the company’s work in 2012.

From the theaterWashington website:

One of the country’s most prestigious cultural honors, since 1985 the Helen Hayes Awards has celebrated outstanding achievement in over 80 professional theaters throughout the Washington metropolitan area.

Named for the legendary First Lady of the American Theatre, nominated artists and companies exemplify the excellence found on all Washington stages, and therefore propel Washington as a nationally and internationally recognized theater town.”

The Helen Hayes Awards honors and celebrates that work and, by so doing, brings national attention to our region’s greatest cultural resource. Artistic achievement is awarded in 26 categories as well as two special awards: The Helen Hayes Tribute for an extraordinary contribution to the American theater and The Washington Post Award for Innovative Leadership in the Theater Community. Every year, artistic, corporate, philanthropic, social, and political leaders join together to honor these collective efforts which have established Washington as the second most prolific theater town in the country.


Outstanding Ensemble, Resident Play
August: Osage County

Outstanding Ensemble, Resident Musical
Spring Awakening

Outstanding Lead Actress, Resident Play
Rena Cherry Brown – August: Osage County

Outstanding Lead Actor, Resident Musical
Paul Scanlan – Spring Awakening

Outstanding Music Direction, Resident Musical
Jake Null – Spring Awakening

Outstanding Director, Resident Musical
Mark A. Rhea and Susan Marie Rhea – Spring Awakening

Outstanding Resident Musical
Spring Awakening

» For the full list of Keegan’s past nominations and awards, click here.

» For the full list of 2012 nominees, or to learn more about the Helen Hayes Awards, click here.