CHICAGO Extends and Announces Benefit for Adventure Theatre MTC

March 16, 2018: Due to record pre-sales and audience demand, The Keegan Theatre has extended the run of CHICAGO through April 14, 2018, and has added Wednesday performances. The April 11 performance has been designated as a benefit for Adventure Theatre MTC, to help offset their financial burden after a March 2nd fire forced the cancellation of nine shows and caused extensive damage to the non-profit’s offices.

“We were saddened to hear about the fire and resulting deficit to our good friends at Adventure Theatre,” says Mark A. Rhea, Keegan’s Producing Artistic Director. “There was no question that Keegan wanted to help in some small way, and with CHICAGO’s early momentum, we feel our audiences will agree and be excited to join us for this fundraising performance, embracing a slightly higher ticket price to benefit this wonderful theater company. Adventure Theatre was my artistic home for the first three years I lived in the DC area, directing several shows during this time, so it holds a special place in my heart. Michael Bobbitt is a cherished member of the DC theater community, and beyond, and supporting him, his staff, and the fantastic work at Adventure Theatre seemed like the easiest decision in the world.”

CHICAGO, with a book by Fred Ebb and Bob Fosse, music by John Kander, and lyrics by Fred Ebb, is the winner of six Tony Awards, including Best Musical Revival, the Grammy Award for Best Musical Cast Recording, and two Olivier Awards. The production, directed by Susan Marie Rhea and Mark A. Rhea, features music direction by Jake Null and choreography by Rachel Leigh Dolan. The cast features Maria Rizzo in the role of Roxie Hart, alongside Keegan newcomer Jessica Bennett as Velma Kelly. Keegan company members Kurt Boehm and Michael Innocenti play Billy Flynn and Amos Hart, respectively. They’re joined by Rikki Howie Lacewell as Matron “Mama” Morton and Chris Rudy as Mary Sunshine. Andre Hinds, Stephen Russell Murray, Mike Kozemchak, Katie McManus, Heather Gifford, Jennifer Hopkins, Jillian Wessel, Amber Jones, Melrose Pyne, Rj Pavel, Will Hayes, and Kaylen Morgan round out the cast.